Growing Out My Hair

I have been trying to grow out my hair for… years.  Granted, a huge part of the problem is that 1) I get bored easily and ask my stylist for a cut that “looks like I just got my hair cut” (often chopping off an inch or more) once in a while and 2) I had tons of relatively short layers that take ages to grow out.  But, I have a wedding in 6 months, so I’m getting more serious about hair health and growth.

 

Just today, I came across this really helpful blog post on Lauren Conrad’s site.  She has tons of great advice that I think is really helpful!  If you’re looking to grow out your hair, I recommend taking a look!

As for me, this is what I’ve learned:

  1. I didn’t believe it in years past, but I really think that the quality of the products you use on your hair makes a big difference.  About 4 months ago, I stopped using shampoos and conditioners that you can buy at your local grocery store or drugstore.  Instead, I only use the kinds I can buy at salons and beauty supply stores.  I get my hair highlighted, so it needs a lot of extra TLC.  I primarily use Pureology Hydrate shampoo and conditioner.  It works fantastically (my hair is healthier and silkier than ever) and because it’s more concentrated, it lasts a long time.  You only have to use a small amount, unlike some brands where you have to just pour it on.  As an added bonus, the conditioner has a peppermint ingredient that smells amazing and makes your scalp feel awesome!  I can’t say enough about this stuff!  Then, about once a week or every two weeks (depending on how my hair is looking), I use this purple shampoo and conditioner to cut down on brassiness.  Obviously, I’m a fan considering I wrote an entire post on it.  It’s still working for me, and I haven’t had to buy more since I wrote that post almost a year ago!
  2. It matters where you get your hair done.  If you go to a cheap stylist who doesn’t care about the health of your hair, it will be a problem over time.
  3. If you have processed or color treated hair, it requires a lot of extra help!  Everyone has different hair types and needs.  Just because your friend uses a certain product, doesn’t mean it will work for you.
  4. Always, ALWAYS use a heat protectant when you use straighteners, curling irons, blow dryers, etc.!
  5. Yes, these products and stylists are significantly more expensive than the stuff you buy at Wal Mart.  I know, that was why I didn’t used to invest in it.  But then I started thinking about it, and is it more important to save a few bucks, or have awesome hair?  I have to “wear” my hair every single day.  Why wouldn’t I spend the money to take care of it when I’m willing to spend that much on a shirt that I might wear once or twice a month?

After following all of these tips for the past few months, I finally feel like my hair is “getting long.”

 

I hope you find this helpful!  Do you have any tips for growing out your hair?  If so, please share them in the comments!

One thought on “Growing Out My Hair

  1. Pingback: Favorites of 2013 | Class and Creation

Leave a Reply

