My New Show Obsession: Pretty Little Liars

(At this point, I am somewhere in the middle of season two, and I have a ways to go before I am current on episodes.  SO PLEASE NO SPOILERS!)

I admit, I was skeptical at first.  But a few people I know talk about it a lot, and the past seasons are easily available on Netflix.  So one day, when I had some free time and the fiance was going to be out, I decided to give it a try.  I thought to myself, “I’ll watch one episode and see how it goes,” but I wasn’t expecting much.

I was hooked by the middle of episode one.

 

I was expecting a cheesy teen drama show, but that’s not what I got.  Pretty Little Liars (I’ll abbreviate it “PLL”) is a suspenseful mystery romantic comedy drama.  It’s got everything.  And the story isn’t as superficial as I was expecting from the title.  Yes, the main characters are four high school girls.  But there’s so much more to the show than most high school girl shows.

Without any spoilers, the basic premise of the show is that there was a group of five friends, and about a year prior to the first episode, the leader of the group went missing.  The show follows the remaining four girls as they attempt to come to terms with their friend’s disappearance, navigate high school, and have meaningful relationships with each other, their families, and significant others.  Oh, and someone’s watching them and interfering along the way.  “A,” the anonymous character, sends the girls ominous messages and interferes with their lives.  Throughout the show, you’re kept guessing about who A might be.  Just when you’re sure it’s someone, you find out it’s not.

Like a good book, PLL is the television equivalent of a page-turner.  I’m glad that I’m watching it for the first time on Netflix because I really couldn’t imagine having to wait a week between episodes!  I’ve watched as many as SIX episodes in a row.  (It was a weekend and I had just finished my law review comment… I deserved a break!)

If you haven’t watched it yet, I really recommend giving PLL a chance.   It’s a lot of fun, it makes you think, it’s awesome to see what each of the stylish main characters is wearing in each episode, and it’s a great conversation starter!  I have a blast texting friends about each episode when something crazy happens!  If you decide to watch, let me know what you think in the comments (again, no spoilers please!).  I’d love to hear your opinion!

Leave a Reply

