Wedding Planning: Buyer’s Remorse

In my last post, I shared with you some of my experience with dress shopping, and I mentioned that choosing my dress was a bit unexpected.  I managed to have some second thoughts shortly thereafter.  I was wondering if I made the right choice because I made the decision so unexpectedly and felt a little pressured by a limited-time sale to make the decision on the spot.  I spent much of the weekend and all of Monday second guessing myself, and I was feeling really confused and upset.  I didn’t want to be THAT girl who picked the wrong dress, but I also didn’t want to be THAT girl who kept looking after making the choice.

I have Tuesdays off at my internship, and my mom called the bridal salon before I woke up to see if they had placed the order for the dress yet.  As of Tuesday morning, they had not, and she (wisely) asked if they could hold off so that we could just be sure. The staff was completely understanding and extremely helpful.  They made it clear that all they wanted was for me to be happy with my dress, so I could try on as many as I wanted to feel comfortable.

Of course, it’s important to remember that we had already placed a 50% deposit.  Those are not refundable.  This particular salon was willing to transfer the deposit to another dress if necessary because the order had not yet been placed.  That may not be the case everywhere, and we happened to get lucky that they hadn’t yet ordered the dress.  I emphasize this because I would hate for anyone to read this and assume it’s easy to change your mind once you sign off on your dress.  I don’t think that’s really the case, but a lot of things happened to line up in my favor!

So off we went, back to the salon.  The consultants were wonderful and genuinely wanted me to leave feeling happy and comfortable with any decision I made.  We chose a few more dresses to try.  I tried to pick things that were very different so that I could feel like I tried “everything” to make sure I was making the right choice.  I tried on a lace dress (it was gorgeous on the hanger but a disaster on me), some options with more or less bling, a couple of different silhouettes…

After trying them on, I found one other that I really liked.  I’m pretty sure I’ve seen it on Say Yes to the Dress about 50 times, and I can see why so many women choose it now.  But then the consultant had me try on “my” dress one more time and BAM.  That was it.  She left me in it in the dressing room alone for a few minutes as she ran off to get something, and as I was standing there alone, no distractions, I was reminded that it is perfect for me.  The way the skirt falls is positively dreamy, and I couldn’t stop running my hands along the fabric.  I love it.  It is me, and no other dress would be what that one is… for me.  The consultant brought me back out and my mom knew too.  We jacked me up a bit, made a couple changes to some of the accessory details, and now it is perfect.

I am so happy that I made the choice to go back and take a second look.  I made the initial decision out of a combination of excitement, emotion, and pressure to make a decision while the sale was going on.  But going back and trying some more options has made me 100% sure that this dress is what I want.  I always watched the girls on TLC and thought to myself “when they say it’s the dress that makes them feel beautiful, THAT’s the one.”  And this dress makes me feel beautiful.  And it’s the one. ❤

XOXO

__________________________

Where I found my dress:

If you’re in the Las Vegas area and looking for a dress, I found mine at Bowties Bridal Boutique, and Lauren was my consultant.  She is wonderful, and I recommend asking for her if you try there!

_________________

TIP:

If you are starting the search for a wedding dress, looking online is really helpful.  But beware!  Not every salon carries every designer.  I had originally chosen a favorite online, only to find that it’s not sold anywhere in my city… the designer just doesn’t sell here.  The closest place I could have found it was San Diego… which is a bit of a trek and an unnecessary expense.  So be a bit cautious!  I would suggest doing your preliminary searches to get ideas, but then to narrow when you’re becoming more serious about your decision.  Look at the websites for the salons in your area to see which designers and styles they carry ahead of time so that you can tailor your search accordingly!

Leave a Reply

