It only took me a year of law school to realize why I came to law school…

Tonight, I was replying to a prospective law student’s questions, and I was trying to explain what made me finally decide to attend law school.  I typed and typed away, and wasn’t really thinking too hard about what I was writing, just letting it flow.  I went back and read the sentence I had just written, and this is what I saw:

 

I realized that there is absolutely nothing that should stand in the way of realizing my potential, and I should do what makes me happy to reach my goals.

 

Reading that sentence literally gave me goosebumps.  I realized in that moment that the reason I got the courage to go to law school was because I finally believed in myself, realized who I was and what I could become, and set fear aside because I deserve it.  Seriously, one of the biggest epiphanies of my life.  This realization came in the middle of finals week in my 1L year.

 

To make this moment even more special, the motto of Alpha Xi Delta, the sorority that helped me become who I am, is “realize your potential.”  I wasn’t thinking about that when I wrote the above sentence, but obviously that organization and my sisters have had a pretty amaXing impact on my life.  It was a moment where everything seemed to come together, and I hope that I can remember this feeling.

 

Anyway, I just felt that I had to share this ah-ha moment in my life.  Hopefully this post will be a good reminder to myself when I feel defeated and like I can’t handle the stress, and hopefully it will have a positive impact on someone else having a hard time making a difficult leap into the unknown.

 

XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

