Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Best friends EVER!

Ever have one of those days?  You know, one of those really awful ones, where you feel like the whole world sucks?

Yeah, me too.  And I had one Sunday.  After a, let’s just say “rough,” night Saturday night, when my friends heard about what had happened, they surprised me with a present!  I was out doing some grocery shopping when I got a text asking if I was home.  I replied that I was not, but would probably be in an hour or so.  When I walked in the door, I found fresh tulips and a box of donuts on my family room table… I literally cried tears of happiness when I saw it.  Realizing that through all the difficulty and hardship, I had some friends who cared enough about me to do something so unexpected and so incredibly nice reaffirmed my faith in people at a time when I really needed it.  I am more than grateful to these wonderful girls.

I hope that this story sheds some light on a few key points:

First, bad days are going to happen.  They just are.  And there’s nothing you can do to stop them.  So let it pass and find something to be happy about later on… it helps!

Second, doing something nice for someone can have a profound effect on his or her life.  It doesn’t have to be something big or something expensive, but a thoughtful gesture can turn someone’s awful day into a good one.  Keep that in mind because you never know what kind of happiness you can bring to someone’s life by going just a little out of your way!

Finally, be grateful for the good things in your life!  Sometimes, it can be difficult to see them through the haze of a tough time.  And that’s totally okay.  Just remember that you have to keep moving through the haze and allow yourself to see the sunshine… and when you do, be thankful for its warmth!

Although we may not always stop and think about it, we all have someone (or a few someones!) in our life who we can count on and who truly cares.  I wanted to take the opportunity to share this story because I am so proud to call these girls (and a few others, of course!) my friends.  I hope that you have a similar story, and I would love for you to share it in the comments!  I think it’s good to remember the things that bring us joy and to me, this story is a perfect example of that.  I hope that this brought a little sunshine to your day, too!

XOXO

Such beautiful tulips!

Donuts with a note 🙂

What beautiful flowers!

Leave a Reply

