Snowy Nails

A Part of the “Getting in the Christmas Spirit” Series

I’ve been trying to take better care of my nails lately, but I’ve always had a bad habit of picking and biting them.  I had been doing pretty well, they were looking great!  But then… finals!  When I get stressed, the bad habit tends to kick in worse than usual.  I have found that one of the best ways to avoid the problem is to keep my nails polished.  As long as they have polish on them, I’m much less likely to mess with them.  And if I find myself nervously fidgeting, I end up picking at the polish instead of my nails.  It may not be a perfect solution, but it works better than anything else I’ve found!

In an effort to forestall the disaster that could ensue during finals week, I decided to try a new wintery combo on my nails.  It turned out great, and my fiance even noticed and complimented it!  I already had both polishes at home and just combined them in a new way.  The white shimmery background with the glittery overlay was inspired by a recent snowfall, and I think it hit the mark!

I used two coats of Pure Ice Best Friend followed by one coat of Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Strobe Light.

  

As usual, please excuse the messiness.  While it seems I’m getting a little better… I’ll admit not by much.  Haha.  Anyway, I think this combo turned out really fun and winter-y, and I really liked it.  It would easily work with any similar glittery overlay, but I think the hints of pink add a little something extra.  I was considering a gold or silver glitter, and I think either would work really well, also.

If you have any winter and holiday favorites, please share them!  Nail polish usually doesn’t last more than a few days for me, so I’ll need lots of new ideas!

Leave a Reply

