Chocolate Christmas Cookies

A Part of the “Getting in the Christmas Spirit” Series

One of my very favorite holiday traditions is baking Christmas cookies!  Every year, my family bakes dozens of cookies.  Sometimes we give them to neighbors as gifts, sometimes we take them with us to potluck holiday parties, and sometimes we just enjoy them at home.   My fiance and I have extended the tradition and decorated sugar cookies last year together, but I will save that for another post. 🙂

 

Last year I tried an old recipe for the first time on my own.  The cookies turned out great!  They were delicious and not all that difficult to make.  I admit that they were time-consuming and didn’t make a whole lot in a batch.  But, they are totally worth it!  I did half the batch as chocolate “snowballs” rolled in peppermint sprinkles and half as “thumbprint” cookies with maraschino cherries in the middle.  For the cherry ones, I also spooned a bit of the cherry syrup/juice into the indent around the cherry to add a little extra flavor.  I can’t wait to make these again once I’m home and have a decent kitchen!

 

Thumbprint version with maraschino cherries.

 

Chocolate "snowballs" rolled in peppermint sprinkles

 

You can find the recipe I used online at this link.  We had it from an old magazine that we had ripped the page out of years ago, so I’m glad I can find it online, too!  The best part about it is that you can make a lot of different shapes and variations with the same recipe because the dough holds its shape once baked.  The link provides a few options, but I loved the ones I made.  Once you make the dough, you can pretty much do whatever sounds good to you!

 

PLEASE feel free to share any of your favorite cookie recipes!  You can never have too many Christmas cookie recipes, and I am more than willing to try any new ones you recommend!  Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

