Ombre Highlights

For just a moment, I seriously considered ombre highlights for my next hair appointment.  Then I realized that the style really looks best on loose wavy curls and long, thick hair… none of which I have.  So… I’ve moved on.  But, in the meantime, I realized just how cute this style can be and how amazing it can look on some women.  Here are a few of my faves…

    

Lauren Conrad, the style master!

Jessica Biel – nicely done!

Whitney Port proves ombre can work for blondes, too.

Drew Barrymore

These are jsut a few celebrities who have gone with the ombre trend.  You can find tons more if you’re really interested.  I think it looks really fun and beachy, but can also be dressed up, as you can see here.  As far as I’ve read, it seems as though you only have to touch up about 2-3 times a year, which would be AMAZING considering that I generally feel I need to have highlights touched up almost every month.  Truthfully, I can’t afford the $100+ every month, so this style would be great if only I could pull it off.  Oh well, I guess I’ll leave this one to the red carpet!

Let me know if you have any fun hair tips and trends you’d like to share!

____________________

UPDATE TO THIS POST:

So… In December, I inadvertently ended up with an ombre look to my hair.  I initially wanted to have my hair brought back to its natural color to promote health and growth, and to make it easier to keep up.  I got tired of the constant highlights, the cost involved, and the damage it was doing to my hair.  However, it came out much darker than expected, and my stylist tried to mut that by lightening the ends to create an ombre effect.

If you intend to do ombre highlights, make sure that you choose a stylist that is familiar with the technique, does it often, and does it well.  Otherwise, it doesn’t come out quite right.

In addition, I had initially looked into ombre because I thought it would be low-maintenance, but that’s not quite true.  I hadn’t considered that blonde fades and becomes brassy, which I don’t care for.  So I ended up with my hair 1) growing out so I still had roots [because the base color she used was darker than my natural color], 2) a combination of colors I didn’t really want, and 3) the lighter shade faded and got a somewhat orangey-brassy tone to it, which I hated.  If you get ombre highlights, that doesn’t necessarily mean there’s no need to get highlights or treatments often.  You’ll still have to do a decent amount of maintenance to keep the color of the blonde a color you like, which I hadn’t considered!

In short, ombre highlights can look great on some people, but I’m not one of them.  If you plan to duplicate the red carpet looks seen above, I recommend asking your sylist about his or her experience doing ombre highlights and I would also see if they have any photos of other clients that they have created the look for so you can see how well they do with it and if you like the effect.

I hope you find this update helpful!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

