Something Pinteresting

So in the past few months, I have been seriously slammed with schoolwork.  Law school has been extraordinarily stressful, and I truly don’t have the free time for many of the things I enjoy doing.  In an effort to mitigate the effects of logic and reasoning and their domination over my days, I have been turning to my favorite new pastime for solace.  Pinterest is… amazing.

***

According to their “About” page, ”

Pinterest is a Virtual Pinboard.

Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.

Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people. Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests. To get started, request an invite.”

***

Pinterest is a site that combines creativity with Facebook, in my opinion.  It allows you to share your favorite things, crazy ideas, and helpful instructions with your friends and with the larger community of Pinterest users.  You can like, comment, and repin to your own boards when you find something you like.  It’s a great way to get the creative juices flowing without spending a cent and without committing to a big project.  Even better, I can technically dedicate as much or as little time to Pinterest as I choose.  I can spend only two or three minutes catching up on what my friends have “pinned” since I last logged in when I have some free time between classes, or I can spend a couple hours scouring boards for things I adore on weekends when I need to unwind.

I have found words of inspiration, craft ideas, fashion trends to emulate, recipes, and all sorts of other things to amuse and inspire me through Pinterest.  I can also keep in touch with some of my favorite people through the site in ways that I can’t through Facebook or phone calls.  I used to really enjoy shopping with my mom and with my “sister” Amanda, and since I’ve moved across the country, that’s not really an option.  But with Pinterest, we can share the things we’ve found with each other to get opinions, share ideas, or just oogle the things we wish we could afford.

It’s also been really fun to compile all kinds of wedding ideas for my future wedding in one place.  Rather than having tons of sites that only I can log into to view my “favorites,” I can post every photo to my board on Pinterest so that everyone can comment.  I’ve also allowed some select people authorization to post to the board, too, so they can share their ideas.

Okay, so maybe you could make the argument that I’m a little… “obsessed” with Pinterest.  And maybe I can agree.  Hehe.  But seriously, who am I hurting?  I can’t even make an argument that I’m hurting myself, because I’m not spending anything (which I would be if I were shopping instead), I’m not drinking (which seems to be a pretty popular law school release of energy), and I’m keeping myself sane and connected to the outside world.  Basically, I know that I pin a lot (A LOT), but I really enjoy it and it’s pretty much harmless.

In addition, it makes me feel GREAT to know that I am inspiring others, too.  I checked yesterday and my Wedding Ideas board had nearly 120 followers!  It brings me a lot of happiness to know that I am sharing things I love with so many people and that they find my ideas helpful.  LOVE it.

In case you were wondering about the last phrase from the site’s About section, you do need an invite in order to be a member of Pinterest.  If you know me personally, please feel free to ask and I’d be more than happy to send you an invite.  Otherwise, you can ask someone else you know to invite you or you can ask to be invited through their site.  If you already belong to Pinterest, please feel free to follow me, and I’ll do the same for you!  Happy Pinning!

7 thoughts on “Something Pinteresting

  1. Pingback: S’more Treats « Class and Creation

  2. Pingback: Matte About You « Class and Creation

  3. Pingback: Polka Dot Flowers Craft Night « Class and Creation

  4. Pingback: Good Things Come in Small Packages « Class and Creation

  5. Pingback: Happy Hunger Games « Class and Creation

  6. Pingback: DIY Pearl and Ribbon Bracelet « Class and Creation

  7. Pingback: All Hail New Nails « Class and Creation

Leave a Reply

