Crafty Day

So today, after going to my first tailgate at my new university and watching the team completely dominate from home (we couldn’t even get tickets to the game!), I got inspired to do a craft project!  I am super excited because it’s the first project I’ve done in months, especially since I’ve been so busy with moving and then starting law school.

Here’s the layout of everything I used for my project!  I made a similar one for my previous university a few years ago (you’ll get to see it if you scroll down!) and was really excited to make one today for my new university, too.  If you’re wondering why I have cupcake baking cups, there is an explanation!  We don’t have any styrofoam bowls at the apartment yet (which is what I usually use for paint).  These actually worked pretty well!

I started off by painting the letters with the base color.  It ended up taking 3-4 coats to get it to look solid without streaks.  This ended up taking much longer than I expected!  Apparently, paint dries a lot faster in the desert than it does in a place with 80%+ humidity!  Go figure!

         

Once the paint dried, I added the pawprints with white fabric (“puffy”) paint.  It worked great for a couple of reasons.  First, it’s thick enough to cover over the navy blue without a problem and without multiple coats.  It’s easy to work with because of the squeeze bottle and fine tip.  And finally, I think it gives it a fun 3-D effect. 🙂

While the pawprints were drying, I moved on to work on the base.  I decided to use collegiate style letters to spell out my favorite chant and then the self adhesive star gems for a little extra bling!  It’s definitely important to remember spacing when you do this!  As you can see (sort of…) I used my paper towel as scrap paper to write out what I would be spelling on the base to find the center spot.  I then used a ruler to find the center of the base and worked from the center of the base and the center of the letters outward.  Once the letter stickers were in place, I added the gem stars.  I found the letters and the gems in the scrapbook section of the craft store.

I LOVE SPARKLY THINGS!  A little sparkle was just what this project needed!  I originally planned to use ribbon (as I had done with the previous one I made).  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a ribbon that I liked in the colors I needed.  Boo!  I did find this “glitter tape” in the scrapbook section.  Let me tell you, it looks amazing, but it was really hard to make work!  Although it is somewhat sticky, it didn’t want to stay very well, especially on corners and curves.  I fought with it a lot and finally ended up busting out the hot glue gun to force its cooperation.  I also had to use an exacto knife to cut the edges off the back once I finished because it was just a little too wide for the letters.  In short, If I ever make one of these again, I’m using ribbon!

Despite my frustration with the glitter tape, the finished product made it totally worth it!  I am SO happy with it!  I LOVE this!  It is the perfect mix of school spirit and fun crafting and made for a really amazing project.  L-O-V-E!

Past meets present!  Just to give you another example of how to make these fun… 🙂  I am so happy to have both of these, and making each brought me a lot of joy.  Please feel free to take these ideas and apply them to your own crafty plans.

Although I haven’t done most of these yet, I think some other cute ideas would be …

  • Baby gift with the baby’s name
  • Sorority gift with the Greek letters
  • Mother’s Day/ Father’s Day gift (I’ve done both of these!)
  • Birthday gift
  • Engagement or wedding gift with the couple’s initials

Please share photos of anything similar that you’ve done or come up with!  I would love to see what creative ideas you have!

One thought on “Crafty Day

Leave a Reply

