Signature Waldorf Style: Headbands

One of my favorite fashionistas is Blair Waldorf, the character on Gossip Girl played by Leighton Meester.  Although sometimes her style surprises, mainly she is classy, classic, and sophisticated with a little sprinkle of the trendy.  LOVE.

Although I began wearing headbands before I started watching the show and admiring Blair’s gutsy ambition and fashion sense, her signature headbands (featured in ths InStyle article) inspired me to try new styles and pair them with new types of outfits.  Headbands are not just there for bad hair days, not just a barrier between my bangs and my face.  Headbands are a fantastic accessory that can take a hairstyle up a notch and add a personal style to a classic outfit.

Here are a couple of examples of Blair’s headband style:

      Basically, headbands can be worn with your hair however you want it.  Curly, straight, up, down… whatever!  That’s why  like them, you can add them to whatever style you already wanted to wear and it’s like the cherry on top.  Not necessary, but gives it that little something extra.

I probably own about 20 headbands.  Don’t worry, I don’t wear all of them regularly!  I also don’t wear a headband every day.  BUT, I do think there are a few staple headbands that any girl can have around just in case.

Skinny headband:

A staple, this particular headband fulfills both the “skinny” headband requirement and the “neutral colored” category.  I love multitasking!

Something with Sparkle:

This was one of my first post-high-school headband purchases.  It’s lasted forever and functions as the perfect addition of sparkle where needed.  I picked it up at Forever21 years ago and it hasn’t let me down!

Metallic:

Metallic pairs well when you’re using prominent accessories of the same color.  I have a gold long necklace with pearl and black beads that goes great with this one!

Pattern:

For something a little extra fun and flirty, this pink patterned headband is perfect!  This also satisfies the “wide” headband category as well as the “pop of color” category.  I love the pattern but I also love the layering technique with the ribbon overlay!  Pairing this with a plain black top and jeans makes the outfit!

Special Occasion:

What’s not to love???  I particularly appreciate the fact that this one is a basic skinny black headband with a blinged out wider portion.  I like the contrast between the sizes, but I also like that the decorative part is not too overwhelming because it doesn’t encompass the length of the entire headband.  When I wear this, I feel like I’m wearing an acceptable form of tiara.

Basic Black Headband:

I’d say that I saved the best for last, but I honestly do really like all of these headbands depending on the occasion, outfit, and mood.  That being said, if I had to choose just one (thank goodness I don’t!), it would be this.  It is classic, feminine, and goes with just about anything.  It can be dressed up or down and it’s the perfect in-between so you don’t have to choose skinny or wide.  This particular one is lovely because it’s all ribbon (extra girly!) and I’m partial to  bows.  *le sigh*

I know there are some who don’t really appreciate headbands, but I have to say that I disagree.  I don’t think headbands are childish, at least not when worn properly.  In my opinion, Blair’s character is a great example of how to wear headbands in a classy and stylish way, and I try to do the same.

If you have any favorites, please feel free to share!  I am always looking for new ones, so I would love to see what you like and don’t!

2 thoughts on “Signature Waldorf Style: Headbands

Leave a Reply

