DIY Pearl and Ribbon Bracelet

I know it’s been a while since my last post, and I apologize!

I recently completed this fun DIY project that I found on Pinterest.  I love how versatile this project can be.  You can make a bracelet or a necklace or whatever  you fancy.  You can also use whatever color ribbon you have on hand or choose, and I also found a couple of different shades of pearls that I am eager to try next!  I think this is so fun because it creates a very classy statement piece, but it’s very customizable and affordable.  For the same price as buying a completed bracelet, you can have the materials to make several.  I hope you enjoy!

This is all I needed for the project, plus a pair of scissors :)

I measured the ribbon, but I should have cut it longer. I wrapped it around my wrist twice and then about doubled it, and it wasn’t as long as I needed. I would recommend cutting it extra long… you can easily trim excess if you need to, but you can’t add more!
I tied a trial bow to see how much ribbon to leave on the end. I then tied a knot with just a little more than needed ribbon for the bow on the end. I then threaded the clear cord through the knot so that it stays put and then through the needle. The biggest problem I ran into with this project is that the cord wouldn’t fit through the hole in the pearl bead when it was threaded through the needle. This is because you’re then trying to fit the cord doubled up plus the needle through the bead. Instead, I had to unthread and rethread the needle every time, which was a hassle! Maybe try a thinner cord or beads with a bigger hole, but it is doable this way.

Here’s a more close up shot

Basically, you will weave the ribbon in between and around each bead. This was actually a lot more difficult than it looked! It’s a bit tough to get the ribbon not to slip, especially since the pearl beads are so smooth and round. In between each bead, the ribbon will be doubled, and then weaved underneath the pearl bead. Be careful to thread the cord through the *middle* of the ribbon, or it will be lopsided! Also, try to make each doubled section as close to the same size as possible.

Once you reach the end of the alloted space (make sure that there is enough ribbon at both ends to tie the bow!), tie another knot and thread the cord through the knot and tie a knot in the cord on the other side of the ribbon knot.

Viola!

I know it’s not perfect, but this was my first try!  Ideally, I would have had the pearls go throughout the entire bracelet up until the bow, but like I said, I cut the ribbon a bit shorter than I should have.  I plan on making a few more of these with the materials I already bought, so I’ll be sure to post photos of them when I have them!

I hope you enjoy this project!  Please feel free to share photos if you try this project, I’d love to see them!  Also, I would love any ideas you have for other DIY jewelry projects!

XOXO

_______________________________

Here is the pin that I used as inspiration.  I, unfortunately, have been unable to find the original source for the image, but I want to give credit as well as I can.  Theirs turned out a lot better than mine!

_________________

Update:

I found this awesome tutorial that is really helpful and shows step-by-step instructions for a very similar bracelet AND for some variations.  Check it out for more information! http://www.twinkleandtwine.com/2012/10/tutorial-ribbon-and-pearl-stretch.html

6 thoughts on “DIY Pearl and Ribbon Bracelet

    • Sorry, I just saw your comment! I matched the pearl to the size of the ribbon. So for me, I chose the ribbon I wanted first, and then held the pearl strand against the ribbon to match the width. It just depends on the size you like!

  1. Hi,

    How do you put on the bracelet? Do you unknot the ribbon each time and then knot it around your wrist? Or does it stretch over your hand and onto your wrist?

    If it is the former way, I am wondering how to do this without someone to help me put on the bracelet.

    Thanks.

    • Sorry I’m just now seeing this! With the materials I used, I think you would have to either wear it kind of loose and pull it on and off OR untie and retie it each time. Otherwise, you could probably switch for a stretchy clear type of line to hold it together to make it easier to slide on and off!

Leave a Reply

