DIY “Make a Wish” Dandelion Seed Necklaces

 

My friend and I saw these adorable dandelion seed “wish” necklaces online (via Pinterest and Etsy) and just adored them.  The thing is, I didn’t feel like waiting for shipping… and I realized I could easily make them myself!  So I collected a dandelion outside my apartment (I actually think this makes it more meaningful), found some miniature bottles and other supplies, and off I went!

I’ll be honest, the hardest part was finding the mini glass corked bottles.  Everything I searched online gave me ordering them online… and if I wanted to wait for shipping I’d just buy the necklace.  So, after being unsuccessful elsewhere, I happened to get lucky and find them at the Joann’s in my town, and I was super excited!

Basically, the concept is very simple.  I even bought leather necklaces to make my life EVEN easier, though you could use a chain or ribbon or whatever else you like.  I thought the leather would keep with the cool, earthy feel of the dandelion seed.  First, take one of the little seeds and push it into the little bottle.  I used tweezers and that helped a lot.  I also had to be careful because on the first try, the seed wias a little bit too tall for the bottle I bought.  I fought a bit to get it out, and then chose a slightly smaller one and also bent (very carefully) the stem of it right above where the seed at the bottom is so that it was a bit more flexible and fit better.  After that, I used super glue to secure the cork in the top, used a connector ring thingy to attach the bottle to the leather cord, and voila!

Super easy, super cute, and super fun!

 

This is all I needed to make the necklaces!

 

Here's a close up of the bottles

 

Bottles with the seeds in them

 

Seeds in bottles

 

Make a wish!

 

One for her and one for me!

 

I recommend wearing these with dark colors so that it’s easier to see the actual seed inside the bottle.  They’re very delicate, so they can easily become lost in a lighter color or against a pattern.  I got a compliment the first time I wore mine!

 

Please feel free to share any of your favorite ideas for DIY jewelry in the comments, or let me know if you try making these and how it works out for you!

 

XOXO

2 thoughts on “DIY “Make a Wish” Dandelion Seed Necklaces

Leave a Reply

